Kung saan hinuhugot ang ideya

Image may contain: 1 person, eyeglasses and closeup, text that says 'Kung saan hinuhugot ang ideya Nathaniel Hermosa National Institute of Physics University of the Philippines Diliman'

The Samahang Pisika ng Pilipinas Physics Conference pushed through even with the pandemic. It was held online from 19 to 23 October 2020.

I got invited to talk about my creative process. I used James Webb Young’s A Technique for Producing Ideas to frame my talk. I discussed how we came up with ideas that eventually became papers.

One of the questions from an attendee is, “Is this general, meaning for all?” The quick answer is NO. Every researcher has their own method of producing idea. The goal of the talk is actually two things:

1. to give young researchers a sort of template as they try to determine their own creative process

2. to reflect and be conscious of our own methods of creation, to be aware of what works.

I uploaded the video in my youtube channel, embedded here.

The abstract of my talk is written below.

Abstract

In this short intimate talk, I will reveal my group’s not-so-secret process of creating ideas. While this process may be personal and unique to our group, and we may not have a large body of work that spans a wide spectrum of topics yet, I hope to accomplish two things. First is to give young researchers a sort of template as they try to determine their own creative process. As budding scientists, we usually have difficulty knowing where to start. And second, I want the audience to reflect and be conscious of their own methods of creation, to be aware of what works for them. Scientists are expected to be creatives. Knowing the process of creating ideas, eases the burden of making them.

1 Comment

Leave a Comment